Official name:
Bosnia and Herzegovina (most commonly abbreviated as BiH)
Capital city:
Sarajevo (population 500.000)
Other major cities:
Banja Luka, Bihać, Mostar,Tuzla, Zenica
Geographic location:
South Eastern Europe, borders with Croatia (932km), Serbia (312km) and Montenegro (215km)
51.209 km2
3.8 million
Muslim (44%), Orthodox Christian (32%), Roman Catholic (17%), Others (7%)
Ethnic groups:
Bosniaks, Serbs, Croats and others
Bosnian, Serbian, Croatian (all official)
Administrative organization:
Two entities (Federation of BiH and Republika Srpska) and Brcko District of BiH
Government Structure:
BiH is a parliamentary democracy with a bicameral parliament (House of Representatives and House of Peoples), a three-member rotating presidency, a Council of Ministers, and Constitutional Court
14.6 billion EUR EUR (2015)
GDP per capita:
3 821 EUR (2015)
Konvertibilna Marka (BAM-official; KM-common use)
Exchange rate:
1 EUR = KM 1.95 (fixed exchange rate)
A very hilly country with the Dinaric mountains dominating the landscape. The highest point, mountain Maglic, rises to 2,387m. Thick forests cover almost 50% of the land. In the north, along the Sava River valley, a hilly, fertile plain stretches east to west. The country has 23 km of coastline in the southwest of the country, providing access to the Adriatic Sea.
Winters can be very cold with a lot of snow, especially in the hills and mountains. Summers are generally warm and comfortable.
44 N, 18 E
Time zone:
CET (GMT + 1 hour)
Internet domain:
Int. telephone code: